Main Menu

Home Reports + Accreditation

Reports + Accreditation


In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year term, an eight-year term with conditions, or two-year term of continuing accreditation, or a three-year term of initial accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a non-accredited undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the non-accredited degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

The University of Utah, School of Architecture, offers the following NAAB-accredited degree programs:

  1. Master of Architecture 2-yr. (non-accredited undergraduate architecture degree + 59 credits)
  2. Master of Architecture 3+ (non-architecture undergraduate degree + 101 credits)

Next accreditation visit for all programs: 2025